Crestview Director of Nursing chosen as One of Iowa’s Great Nurses in 2019

Crestview Director of Nursing

Cindy Wiersema has been selected to receive honors at the 100 Great Iowa Nurses event to be held Sunday, May 5, at the Iowa Events Center Grand Ballroom in Des Moines.  Wiersema has been Director of Nursing at Crestview Specialty Care in West Branch since 2013.

“Cindy has a tremendous work ethic and a deep concern for others,” Administrator Cheryl Mercer said.

Years ago, Cindy purchased and trained her dog, Sophie, to join her at work and enhance and enrich residents’ environment. “Cindy assists Sophie by visiting residents who might be feeling down, having difficulties with anxiety or even in the process of dying,” Mercer said. “Cindy always takes the time to make sure residents, families and co-workers have her attention, compassion and care.”

“She has also contributed significantly to the growth of other nurses,” Mercer adds. “She took the opportunity to provide clinical experiences for nursing students from University of Iowa, Kirkwood Community College and Mount Mercy, sharing her knowledge and expertise as a nurse, as well as assisting them in their personal growth in the long-term care environment. Her contribution to the nursing profession truly stands out and is making a difference in the lives of our frail and elderly Iowans and many others,” Mercer said.

100 Great Iowa Nurses is a nonprofit program spearheaded by the University of Iowa College of Nursing, that honors great nurses in Iowa, and funds awards to support the education of Iowa nurses. This is the 15th year of the event. The upcoming celebration is an annual prelude to National Nurses Week, May 5-11.

The complete list of nurses being honored this year can be found at Nurses selected for this honor represent many sectors of health care, working as nurses in hospitals, long-term care facilities, schools, and offices. They come from all practice areas in nursing, including acute care, sub-acute care, post-acute care, school nursing, nurse leaders, academics, and many more.