Geerdes Earns Work as a Team Award

Dannelle GeerdesDannelle Geerdes, Business Office Manager for Lyon Specialty Care in Rock Rapids, has received the “Work as a Team Award” at the Care Initiatives’ annual awards brunch Friday, Dec. 15 in West Des Moines.

Geerdes joined Lyon Specialty Care in 2009 initially working as a CNA while also juggling her teenage boys’ extra-curricular activities maintaining a near-perfect attendance record.

Local LPN uses artistic talent to spread thankfulness

Artistic talents and compassion come together beautifully at Lyon Specialty Care in Rock Rapids! Every fall, LPN Penny Behrens spends time with each resident asking what they are thankful for and creates a board or book with every resident's comment. This year she painted a tree with the leaves representing residents who have lived here this past year. The staff members are represented by the border around the tree. We are so thankful for Penny to take the time to make something very special for our residents and staff to enjoy!

Lyon Specialty Care makes national honor roll

July, 2018 - Lyon Specialty Care in Rock Rapids has been named to the National Nursing Home Quality Care Collaborative Honor Roll to recognize its performance on the Nursing Home Compare long-stay quality measures. Nursing homes on the Nursing Home Quality Collaborative Honor Roll have achieved a quality measure composite score which is aligned with the top 10 percent of nursing homes in the U.S.

Lyon Specialty Care Earns Deficiency Free Survey

Lyon Specialty Care in Rock Rapids has received a “Deficiency Free” result on its annual survey in September, 2017 by the Iowa Department of Inspections and Appeals. There are 412 nursing facilities in Iowa. Generally, only 5 percent are found to be deficiency-free.

Lyon Specialty Care Receives Bronze National Quality Award

Lyon Specialty Care in Rock Rapids has been recognized as a 2017 recipient of the Bronze – Commitment to Quality Award for its dedication to improving the lives of residents through quality care. The award is the first of three distinctions possible through the National Quality Award Program, presented by the American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL).